First-DUI Offense in Florida

Florida Statute §316.193 sets the standard for what is considered drunk driving in Broward County, FL. In Florida, the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit is 0.08. The kind of penalty that is imposed due to a DUI charge may depend on whether the charge is an offender's first, second, or third DUI.

The majority of those who are arrested for a first-time DUI charge have no prior criminal record. Many first-time DUI offenders in Florida can get their charges reduced to less serious offenses such as reckless driving or "wet reckless."

 Within the first ten (10) days of a DUI charge, we will work with you to get you a hardship license so you can drive while our attorneys fight the case.

Attorney for a First-Time DUI Offense in Fort Lauderdale

People often ask what happens when you get a DUI. Those who are first-time DUI offenders with no criminal record, in particular, have a hard time understanding their criminal charges. Talking to an experienced criminal defense attorney who will explain the charges and what advantages you may have by being a first-time offender can help ease your anxiety.

Contact the experienced attorneys at Bacchus & Navarro Law Group. Our attorneys take cases throughout the Miami-metropolitan area in Broward County, Florida, and in the surrounding counties of Palm Beach County, Collier County, Hendry County, and Miami-Dade County, Florida.

Call (954) 500-5555 to schedule a one-on-one consultation with one of our attorneys.


Overview of First DUI Offenses in Broward County


Back to top

Types of Court Imposed Penalties for a First-DUI in FL

An attorney can help you learn more about how to avoid the typical penalties from a DUI conviction. Unless you avoid the DUI conviction, then for a first-time DUI, a Florida court will impose the following mandatory penalties:

  • Florida Driver's Licenses Revoked – first-time offenders can have their licenses suspended for up to twelve (12) months;
    • Hardship Driving Permit – after an offender has completed DUI School, he or she may apply for a hardship for reinstatement of their license for business or employment purposes;
  • Fine – Florida courts will impose a fine of up to $1,000. If an offender's BAC was 0.15 or higher, then the fine may be up to $2,000;
  • Ignition Interlock Device (IID) – an IID will only be required if the offender has a BAC of 0.15 or higher or a minor was in the vehicle at the time of the offense;
  • Vehicle Impound – an offender's vehicle will be immobilized for at least ten (10) days;
  • Jail Time – for a first DUI, the offender will serve up to six (6) months in a Broward County Jail;
  • Enhanced Jail Penalties – a first time DUI offender will be subject to enhanced jail time, which is up to nine (9) months in jail under the following circumstances;
    • if the offender's BAC was 0.15 or higher; or
    • if there was a minor passenger in the vehicle at the time of the offense;
  • DUI School – the offender will be required to complete DUI school at either level I or level II;
  • Community Service – the offender will be required to complete fifty (50) hours minimum of community service.

Back to top

Reinstating Your License After Florida DUI

If you are convicted of a DUI for the first time in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida, then it is important to understand that unless the court grants hardship, an individual's license will be suspended for at least six (6) months.

To reinstate your Florida driver's license, you must visit the Florida DMV and pay a reinstatement fee after you complete the requirements imposed by your specific offense. Reinstating your Florida license after a DUI charge usually requires enrolling in a DUI course and proving that you have the required bodily liability insurance coverage.


Back to top

Additional Resources

Florida Statute §316.193 – Visit Online Sunshine the official website of the Florida Legislature for the full statutory language regarding driving under the influence in Broward County, Florida. Online Sunshine provides access to all official versions of the Florida Statutes, including the administrative codes and the criminal codes.

Reinstating License After DUI –Visit the Florida DMV for more information about the steps a DUI offender in Broward County, FL must take in order to reinstate his or her license or apply for a hardship to have your license reinstated for business or employment purposes after a first-time DUI charge.


Back to top

Find an Attorney for a First-DUI in Broward County, FL

If you have been charged with a DUI, especially if it is the second or third offense, it can result in many lifestyle changes, including changes in the way you travel. Speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney immediately and demand a formal review hearing.

Contact the experienced attorneys at Bacchus & Navarro Law Group. Our attorneys take cases throughout the Miami-metropolitan area in Broward County, Florida, and in the surrounding counties of Collier County, Palm Beach County, Hendry County, and Miami-Dade County, Florida.

Call (954) 500-5555 to schedule a one-on-one consultation with one of our attorneys.

Our offices are centrally located on Southeast 3rd Ave, in Ft. Lauderdale, FL, just minutes from the Broward County Central Courthouse. If you have been arrested for DUI in Miami, LaBelle, West Palm Beach, or East Naples, then contact our firm immediately.

This article was last updated on June 15, 2017. 


Back to top